Race, Sex, and BDSM: On “Plantation Retreats” Where Black People Go to Serve Their White “Masters” | Daily Kos

This has my mind running around in circles. I’m open to try a lot sexually. Having said that, I’m not sure how I would respond if my partner expressed a desire for race play. The politics of desire and erotics are hardly discussed in the LGBT community in the Netherlands. We like to believe that what we find attractive/desirable is deeply personal, however, our desires, our wants and needs, are largely shaped by our culture, and historically situated. I need to process this.

innerstanding isness

7783778172_5283c6efa8
Those who have loved and dated across the color line have to negotiate the realities of race in our society, and by extension, its impact on their relationships. For many, this is done through explicit conversations. For others, these dialogues come implicitly, through gestures, and taken for granted shared assumptions.But how many folks actually talk about how race impacts their own sexuality, attraction, physicality, or notions of the erotic?We live in a society that is structured around many different hierarchies of power, authority, and difference. As Foucault brilliantly observed, Power is not sitting out there in the ether, an abstraction that we just talk about in philosophy classes. Power acts through and upon bodies. Certain people are racialized in American society for example. Their bodies are locations of power–and yes resistance. Likewise, certain types of bodies are marked as “normal,” while others are deemed “different” or “abnormal.”The “popular” imagination…

View original post 1,927 more words

2 thoughts on “Race, Sex, and BDSM: On “Plantation Retreats” Where Black People Go to Serve Their White “Masters” | Daily Kos

  1. Egbert, am embarrassed that I cannot figure out how to leave a response to your comment on the initial blog entry about which I commented, so hope you won’t mind my responding here. You had asked at the end of that post, ” “How can we undo the connections between race, gender, sexuality, and ability?” And I see from your elucidation that you’re not looking for (queer) people of color to be less visible, just not to be stereotyped and limited by stereotypes. Got it. Agreed. And probably, though I just skimmed this latest post, my comment applies here as well.

    1. Hi Sarah,

      It’s all right. Thank you for taking the effort to comment. I find that I’m approaching the questions posed in the course from a slightly different angle than most other students, so I’m glad my comment made sense.

Comments are closed.

